Landmark & Views

Kenya Parliament Buildings

Kenya / Africa

The Parliament Buildings house the Kenyan National Assembly, the lower house of the Parliament of Kenya.  Between 1966 and 2013, it served as a unicameral house. In 2013 (the 11th Parliament) it became the lower house when the Senate was re-established.

It has a total of 349 seats with 290 elected from the constituencies, 47 women elected from the counties and 12 nominated representatives. The Speaker serves as an ex officio member.

The Kenyan Higher Court ordered lawmakers to introduce gender quotas, or face dissolution in the mid-2010s, following the implementation of the 2010 Constitution.

Help us crowdsource images for this point of interest. Contribute below.

See it on these walks


We don't have any images for this location yet, help us by adding one

Contribute an Image

Your email address will not be published.

Fields marked with an * are required

By submitting you agree to our Privacy Policy

Maximum file size: 5 MB.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.