Landmark & Views

The Parliament of Uganda

Uganda / Africa

The Parliament building was started in 1958 as the British prepared for Uganda’s Independence.  It was designed by a British Ugandan architecture firm, Peatfield and Bodgener.  It is in the heart of the city between Parliamentary Avenue, Said Barre Road, Nile Avenue and Kimathi Avenue.  It consists of 350 rooms.  There are three wings.  The North contains the offices of the Speaker, Deputy Speaker and MPs and the library.  The South has the office of the Clerk to the Parliament, senior staff and the Public Relations office, and the East houses the Chamber.   There is a large water tower in the middle.  When Independence came in 1962 the Independence Arc was added, the foundation stone being laid by Milton Obote (1925-2005).

The Ugandan parliament was established in 1962, soon after Independence. The parliament’s function is to pass laws which will provide good governance in the country. Government ministers are bound to answer to the people’s representatives on the floor of the house.  The Parliament has a total of 529 seats, including 353 representatives elected using first-past-the-post voting in single-winner constituencies. Using the same method, 146 seats reserved for women are filled, with one seat per district.

Help us crowdsource images for this point of interest. Contribute below.

See it on these walks


We don't have any images for this location yet, help us by adding one

Contribute an Image

Your email address will not be published.

Fields marked with an * are required

By submitting you agree to our Privacy Policy

Maximum file size: 5 MB.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.