Landmark & Views

Town Hall

Malawi / Africa

The Town Hall is the centre of Lilongwe City Council, which has been the seat of government in Malawi since 1975 when the capital was moved here from Zomba.   The Mayor is the political head of the Council while the Chief Executive Officer heads the administrative arm of the Council.  The city has 27 wards and 4 parliamentary constituencies, and each is represented by a councillor and Member of Parliament respectively. The City Council has five ex-official non-voting members representing interest groups across the city.  The Council also has a chaplain. The Council is mandated to provide a wide range of municipal services to its residents and mobilise resources for service delivery and to make bylaws. The Town Hall serves as the centre of the City Council.

Help us crowdsource images for this point of interest. Contribute below.

See it on these walks


We don't have any images for this location yet, help us by adding one

Contribute an Image

Your email address will not be published.

Fields marked with an * are required

By submitting you agree to our Privacy Policy

Maximum file size: 5 MB.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.