The Golden Jubilee Fountain (1887), now removed, was a gift from Henri C.J. Henry, the first Director of the Royal Windsor Tapestry Manufactory between 1876 and 1890, and Art Director of Gillows in London, who lived around the corner in Queensmead, later to become the Brigidine Convent. He built most of the mansions on the West side of King’s Road. The fountain was made of Portland stone, apparently some 23 feet high and weighing 7½ tons. It was presented to the town by Henri Henry to celebrate Queen Victoria’s Golden Jubilee, but was removed in the 1930s when the new roundabout was built following several accidents that had damaged it. It is thought that the dismantled fountain was taken to the Corporation Nursery which in those days was in Maidenhead Road, near the present day Wells Close. The inscription on the monument reads ‘In remembrance of fifty years of Queen Victoria’s reign. Long live the Queen 1837-1887. Presented to the Royal Borough of Windsor by H. Henry – G.H.PETERS, Mayor, June 1888.’ The inscription (undated) on the trough reads: ‘Presented by the Metropolitan Drinking Fountain and Cattle Trough Association.’
Help us crowdsource images for this point of interest. Contribute below.
See it on these walks
We don't have any images for this location yet, help us by adding one