Nairobi Commonwealth Walkway

Kenya / Africa

Kenya, officially the Republic of Kenya is a country in Eastern Africa. At 580,367 square kilometres (224,081 sq. miles), it is the world's 48th largest country in total area. With a population of more than 47.6 million people, Kenya is the 29th most populated country. As of 2020, Kenya was the third largest economy in sub-Saharan Africa after Nigeria and South Africa. Kenya is bordered by South Sudan to the northwest, Ethiopia to the north, Somalia to the east, Uganda to the west, Tanzania to the south, and the Indian Ocean to the southeast. According to archaeological dating of associated artefacts and skeletal material, the Cushites first settled in the lowlands of Kenya between 3,200 and 1,300 BC, a phase referred to as the Lowland Savanna Pastoral Neolithic. Kenya is a presidential representative democratic republic, in which elected officials represent the people and the president is the head of state and government. It is a member of the United Nations, Commonwealth of Nations, World Bank, International Monetary Fund, COMESA, International Criminal Court, and other international organisations. With a GNI of 1,460, Kenya is a lower-middle-income economy. Kenya's economy is the largest in eastern and central Africa, with Nairobi serving as a major regional commercial hub. Agriculture is the largest sector: tea and coffee are traditional cash crops, while fresh flowers are a fast-growing export. The service industry is also a major economic driver, particularly tourism. Kenya became a German Protectorate in 1885, handed to the British in 1888 and became British East Africa.  In 1920 it was turned into a colony and named Kenya.  In the early years of the 20th century, many British and European farmers settled here, amongst them Baroness Blixen (1885-1962), author – as Isak Dinesen – of Out of Africa (1937). On 6 February 1952 Princess Elizabeth became Queen while visiting Treetops Hotel in the Aberdare National Park.  Soon afterwards the country was beset by Mau Mau uprisings which lasted from October 1952 until December 1959.  On 13 December 1963 Kenya was given Independence, with The Duke of Edinburgh representing The Queen.  In December 1964 Kenya became a Republic – pronounced with a soft ‘e’ – instead of ‘Keenya’ after the first President, Jomo Kenyatta (1897-1978).  After his death in office, the next President was Daniel Arap Moi (1924-2020), who served until 2002.  The current President is Uhuru Kenyatta (born 1961), son of Jomo Kenyatta.  He has served since 2013.    Fun Fact:  Kenya is the world’s leading safari destination, due to homing the world-famous Big 5.  Hunting is illegal in Kenya.   Nairobi: Nairobi is the capital and the largest city of Kenya and was built in 1899 as a rail depot on the Uganda-Kenya railroad.  It took over as the capital from Mombasa in 1907.  During Kenya's colonial period, the city became a centre for the colony's coffee, tea and sisal industries.  After its Independence in 1963, Nairobi became the capital of the Republic of Kenya.   The name Nairobi comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nairobi, which translates to ‘cool water’, a reference to the Nairobi River which flows through the city. The city proper had a population of 4,397,073 in the 2019 census, while the metropolitan area has a population of 9,354,580. The city is popularly referred to as the Green City in the Sun.

4.3 miles / 7 kilometres

My Passport

Collect this Stamp

Get walking to unlock this stamp. You can then add it to your passport.

Stamp Collected

View your passport to find all of the stamps and medals you have collected.

What to see

We don't have any images for this location yet, help us by adding one

Contribute an Image

Your email address will not be published.

Fields marked with an * are required

By submitting you agree to our Privacy Policy

Maximum file size: 5 MB.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Points of Interest